Câmara Municipal de Lagoa

The Municipality of Lagoa is located on the south coast of São Miguel Island, the largest and most populous of the nine islands of the Azores. This municipality, one of six in which the island of São Miguel is divided, is bordered by the municipalities of Ponta Delgada (west), Ribeira Grande (north) and Vila Franca do Campo (east), with its headquarters about nine kilometers from the main city of Ponta Delgada.

Created in April 11th 1522, the municipality has 14,442 inhabitants, according to the censuses of the year 2011, and has a global area of 45.6km², which is divided into five parishes: Nossa Senhora do Rosário, Santa Cruz, Água de Pau, Cabouco and Ribeira Chã. The parishes of Rosario and Santa Cruz constitute the county seat. Lagoa is one of the oldest settlements on the island of São Miguel and its name comes from the fact that there was a kind of lagoon (Lagoa) in front of the present church of Santa Cruz.